5 Simple Steps For Outsourcing

Don't Be Your Brand's Biggest Bottleneck - It's Time To Grow To New Heights

It started off like any normal day for the crew of this major cargo ship...

They were following a well-traveled route...

Used by about 12% of the world's major cargo ships in any given day.

When suddenly strong winds started pounding the ship, making it difficult to stay on course.

Now normally this wouldn't be an issue, the ship's crew could just deviate slightly from the path and correct once the wind settled down.

But in this one-in-a-million chance, that wasn't an option.

See the ship I'm talking about is the Ever Given, and the well-traveled route...

Happens to be the Suez Canal.

I'm sure you know what happened next.

After losing control of the ship, the Ever Given ended up running aground...

COMPLETELY blocking the Suez Canal.

It would take experts 6 days to "un-stick" the massive cargo ship.

Causing massive, world-wide shipping delays.

It's estimated that the blockage prevented around $9.6 billion worth of daily trade.

Causing a surge in both the price of goods and in shipping delays.

Now, why I am I telling you this story about a ship that got stuck in the Suez Canal?

Because it's the perfect example of how dangerous bottlenecks are in your business.

Bottlenecks prevent growth, create massive delays and cause you to lose serious amount of cash.

Now, here's where it's going to get a little uncomfortable...

Most founders are THEIR OWN biggest bottleneck.

Obviously it's not ever on purpose, but many founders are keeping their brands from growing by trying to do "too much."

Your time as a founder is the most valuable resource you have.

You should fight aggressively to keep as much of it as you can, and devote as much as possible to "founder-level" tasks.

In today's newsletter, I'm going to share with you my personal system for removing myself from operations.

Not only will this allow you to grow bigger, faster...

It also increases the chances of you building a business that you can one day exit for a massive payout.

Want to see how I create viral content in real time?

It's one thing to learn about a system...

Seeing it executed in person is a totally different ballgame.

Taking concepts that "sound great" and showing how they are applied in real life...

Is about as different as hearing how great a restaurant is, and finally getting to try it for yourself.

That's why I've decided to host a new training where I not only share my systems for rapidly growing and monetizing your online following...

I'll SHOW you how I use my systems to create the content during my training.

Eliminating any guesswork or doubt around whether or not you can apply my systems to your own brand.

Now, because I'm revealing processes I only make available in my programs, there is an investment to attend the training.

This will allow me to ensure that everyone who attends is able to grasp the systems I share. 

To find out more details about my upcoming training, and secure one of the LIMITED spots...

null

#1 - List Out Your Weekly Habits

There's an old saying - "what gets measured gets managed."

And while there's some debate around the origin of the phrase, practically I've found it to be extremely true.

One of the biggest hacks for improving your productivity is simply tracking your workflow for a week.

Like someone on a diet that doesn't realize how much they snack throughout the day...

You might be shocked by how often you either get off-task or waste time on tasks that aren't beneficial.

This is my first piece advice for anyone looking to streamline their operations...

Find out what you're actually doing each week and then list each thing out.

You might realize that you're losing hours each week just because you're not paying attention.

Once you have all your weekly responsibilities and obligations listed out, it's time to move on to the next step.

#2 - Filter Your Tasks

As a founder, your time is your most valuable asset, and your mental energy is your most precious resource. 

Don't waste them on useless tasks.

We want to ensure you're only giving yourself to "founder-level" tasks.

These are the 20% of tasks that will provide 80% of the growth of your businesses. 

Now, the best way to determine your high-value tasks is by using this powerful resource I came across a while back...

The Eisenhower Decision Matrix. 

The matrix forces you to "bucket" your tasks into 4 different groupings.

The matrix is broken down using these headings:

  • Urgent: Tasks that need immediate attention 

  • Important: Tasks that deliver the most ROI to your key goals 

  • Not Urgent: Tasks that don't need to be addressed immediately

  • Not Important: Tasks that don't contribute to your key goals

Now here's where the power of this matrix comes into play.

You want to spend as MUCH time as possible on Urgent + Important tasks.

These need to be your #1 priority each and every day.

Everything else is secondary.

For tasks that fall under the Important + Not Urgent, you want to gradually schedule these in your week based on your availability and bandwidth.

For task that are Urgent + Not Important, you want to outsource them.

Because they're not as important, someone else could handle them for you. (I'll discuss how to effectively outsource in a minute.)

For tasks that are Not Urgent + Not Important - you need to get rid of them.

I know it can be hard to intentionally discard tasks, but your bandwidth is too important.

Also, if these tasks are truly important, they will re-appear naturally on your list once more relevant. 

Don't make more work for yourself in the meantime.

#3 - Systemize Your Not Important Tasks

Here's where I see a lot of founders mess up.

They realize they need to bring on someone to help get things done...

But they jump the gun and hire someone before proper systems are in place.

There's nothing worse than having to answer one million questions and micro-manage the very person you brought on to help.

In fact, you might end up working more, while also paying someone else's salary.

Before bringing anyone on, take time to document every single one of your Not Important tasks.

Create Loom videos of you doing each task, and create sheets and docs that have any specific details for executing the task.

You'll never be able to cover all of them right out of gate, and there are always extenuating circumstances...

However you want a process that is comprehensive enough that if you gave it to someone they should be able to replicate what you do with a high level of accuracy.

#4 - Hire Someone To Handle The Task

Now that you've properly documented your processes for the tasks, it's time to bring in help.

Over my 14 years of being a founder, I've worked with in-person staff, online contractors and virtual assistants from around the world.

Since I help founders scale online brands, I'm going to focus on remote workers in this section.

However, I do highly recommend occasional in-person strategy sessions with your remote team.

I currently have a team of contractors and virtual assistants that help me manage and grow my businesses.

For many of the day-to-day tasks you likely want to outsource, I highly recommend you get a virtual assistant.

The caliber of talent available is impressive, and they are able to take a lot of time-intensive tasks off your plate.

I get my virtual assistants through the company virtualassistants.io.

They handle all the vetting and payroll, and will assign you a virtual assistant with the skillset that best fits your needs.

#5 - Decide To Delegate And Just Do It

It's not easy to outsource.

As founders, we often feel an extra-strong attachment to our "babies."

And to be completely honest, it can be scary to entrust others with something you've worked so hard to build.

However, for you to grow to the next level, you need to start removing yourself from processes.

And it starts with your mindset.

Start by valuing your time at $2k per hour.

This will automatically help you see how many things are actually "costing" you money when you do them.

Then find someone that can do the tasks 80% as well as you can...

And let go.

Obviously you'll be there to support them, and you're not going to be completely hands off...

But you need to reclaim your time and devote it to more important tasks.

One final thought I want to leave with you in regards to outsourcing.

You perform best when you're operating in your zone of genius.

So just because something is Important + Urgent doesn't mean you should always be the one to handle it.

I try as much as possible to make decisions based on a whole body "Yes." 

If it's something you hate, no matter how important it may be, eventually it'll wear you down and suck the joy out of your journey.

Looks for ways to pass on tasks you dread as much as possible so you can save your energy for the most meaningful parts of what you do.

There you have it, my Outsourcing System.

I hope you find it helpful.

Take some time over the next few days to map out what you need to outsource using the Eisenhower Decision Matrix, and then hit me up on Twitter with what you came up with (feel free to share a screenshot on social media and tag me!).

Let's win together 🥇

Matt

P.S. Whenever you're ready, there are 4 ways I can help you:

#1: I just launched a new YouTube Channel. I'm putting a ton of energy into creating heaps of valuable content that I think you'll like. Come check out my latest stuff, and give me a like and subscribe. 

#2: Want to grow your audience and online business fast? Discover how to build a proven system for audience growth in just 2 hours here.

#3: Promote your brand to over 45,359 subscribers by sponsoring this newsletter (booking into April 2023). 

#4: Follow me on Twitter and LinkedIn for more operating systems, marketing tips, and community-building systems.

💎Gem of the Week💎

Want to go even deeper into ways you can accomplish more while working less?

Then you should check this out 👇

This week’s newsletter is brought to you by Beehiiv

Beehiiv is the only email service provider with a built-in referral program. Explode the growth of your newsletter by using the most powerful persuasion tool out there, word of mouth.    

Start growing your newsletter faster here.

I've created an awesome guide that I want to give you (to help you unlock new content-creation skills).

I summarized 10 years of learnings into a Content Playbook. It has 10,000 hours of mastery summarized in 2 pages.

Share this newsletter with 1 friend and you will get access to this $149 resource for FREE.

Share using the Click to Share button below:

See you again next week!